Safety Patrol

Safety Patrol Badge

Wallace A. Smith Safety Patrol

Being models for positive behavior in our school!

Patrol Member Information

The Safety Patrol is a select group Fourth and Fifth Grade students that are committed to providing a safe school environment for all students at Wallace A. Smith Elementary School.  A Safety Patrol member should be responsible, respectful, cooperative, and helpful. They should always model good behavior.

Role of the School Safety Patrol

Duties may include:

  • Hallway monitoring- making sure students are not running, playing, or talking loudly
  • Assisting students as they exit cars during arrival time
  • Helping students get to class or designated areas without running
  • Assisting students/teachers/staff that need help carrying items into the building, Working cooperatively with adults in assigned areas
  • Helping teachers with breakfast duty in mornings
  • Holding, and opening doors where needed
  • Helping teachers in designated dismissal or morning duty areas
  • Make sure students are staying on the sidewalks, no running
  • Compliment students observed following safety rules
  • Remind students of safety rules when appropriate
  • Report for duty on time with proper equipment
  • Know and follow all building and bus rules/regulations as a role model to others
  • Report to Patrol sponsor, administrators, and staff members assigned


Members of the Safety Patrol must maintain an 80 average or above in all subject areas and NEVER be referred to the office for disciplinary actions. Slipping grades and discipline referrals could result in dismissal from safety patrol. If the homeroom teacher feels that that student is having too many behavior warnings or not turning in work, will result in dismissal from the safety patrol. Not performing patrol duties below will result in dismissal.

School Safety Patrol members:

  • Complete training in traffic safety.
  • Protect students from hazards of crossing roads and highways on their way to and from school.
  • Assist bus drivers in safely transporting students to and from school.
  • Teach fellow students about traffic safety.Serve in other leadership roles under the direction of school officials.

Patrol Member Pledge

I promise to do my best to:

  • Report for duty on time.
  • Perform my duties faithfully.
  • Strive to prevent crashes and always set a good example.
  • Obey my teachers and officers of the patrol.
  • Report dangerous student practices.

Current Patrol Members 2018-2019: 

  1. Cameron Hooks- Captain
  2.  Luke Parr- Captain
  3. AJ Coleman- Co-Captain
  4. Luke Deitch- Lieutenant- Bus 34
  5. Matthew Fuller- Sergeant
  6. Elizabeth Cordle- Sergeant
  7. Jordyn Johnson
  8. Jaelyn Harper
  9. Peyton Harrell
  10. Houston Ledford- Lieutenant
  11. Xavian Martin- Lieutenant
  12. Ezra Centurion
  13. Trey Winderweedle
  14. Sierra McFarland
  15. Attie Dixon
  16. Sophie Ibrahim- Lieutenant- Bus 440
  17. Timothy Scotton
  18. Will Selby
  19. Jaxon Dang
  20. Luke Ferrer
  21. Neely Richardson
  22. Michael Bain
  23. Ethan Kribs
  24. Gracie Hanson
  25. Eli Basham

Patrols of the month:
September- Sierra McFarland and Timothy Scotton
October- Matthew Fowler and Neely Richardson
November- Ezra Centurion and Houston Ledford

Dates to Remember:

Hello! Here are the meeting dates for the first half of the school year. Remember, if your child is a Captain, Lieutenant, or Sergeant they will sometimes have two meetings a month. Meetings end at 5:30.

Officers meetings(Captains, Lieutenants, and Sergeants):
September 5th
November 7th
January 9th

Regular Patrol meetings:
September 11th
October 16th
November 13th
Holiday Party- December 13th or 14th January 15th
Thank you,
Mr. Sanders


All content © 2019 Hamilton County Schools. All rights reserved. | Privacy Notice | Website by School Messenger